Faculty of Science

Welcome to the webpage of our faculty. Here you may find some information about Faculty of Science.


  1. Brief history of the Faculty

  2. Prides of our University in the filed of Natural Sciences

  3. Structure of the Faculty

  4. English-language programmes

  5. Research at the Faculty

  6. Contacts

  7. Documents

Brief history of the Faculty

In 1635 Cardinal Péter Pázmány signs the founding documents of the University in Nagyszombat (today: Trnava, Slovakia). The first two faculties of the university were the Faculty of Humanities and the Faculty of Theology.

Eötvös Loránd University has been offering science courses since its foundation in 1635. Mathematics, physics and cartography were taught from the beginning at the Faculty of Arts. Chemistry, biology and Earth sciences were added to the curriculum by the second half of the 18th century. Following the rapid development of sciences, the independent Faculty of Science was formed from the science departments of the Faculty of Arts in 1949. 

In 1950 the University adopted the name of the world-renowned physicist Loránd Eötvös.

From 2001 the Faculty located in Lágymányos Campus, close to the Danube river.

In 2010 ELTE was awarded the title "research university".

The Faculty of Science has nearly 40 departments grouped into five Institutes and one Centre. These cover disciplines in biology, chemistry, earth sciences, environmental sciences, mathematics and physics. There are about 4000 full-time gradute and 400 PhD students, including nearly 100 international students. Number of teachers and researchers more than 460, of which 80 university teachers, 17 of them are academic. Doctoral training program began in 1993, currently duration are 2 + 2 years. Besides a comprehensive educational curriculum, there is a vigorous program of research in all departments. The Faculty itself is thus a major national scientific resource.

Prides of our University in the filed of Natural Sciences


Field of Science


Fülöp Lénárd (1862-1947)


Nobel Prize 1905

György Hevesy (1885-1966)


Nobel Prize 1943

Albert Szent-Györgyi (1893-1986)


Nobel Prize 1937

György Békésy (1899-1972)


Nobel Prize 1961

Pál Erdős (1913-1996)


Wolf Prize 1983

László Lovász (1948- )


Wolf Prize 1999

Structure of the Faculty

Institiutes, Centre and Doctoral Schools:

Units which belongs to the Faculty:

  • Centre for Science Communication and UNESCO Chair for Multimedia in Education
  • Natural History Museum
  • Faculty Library

The Natural History Museum, which is located in Lágymányosi Campus' southern block, have been opened in June 2002. The museum was officially founded in 2004. It consists of Mineralogical Collection, Biology & Paleontology Collection, and Collection of Mathematics.

In January 2002 was founded the Faculty Library, which consists of Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Mathematics and Physics specialist collections.

English-language programmes

International students may choose from eight master degree programmes and over 20 doctoral programmes. Several programmes combining theory and practice or research.

For more information about degree programmes visit the following website: https://www.elte.hu/en/find-degree-program

Research at the Faculty

  • Biology - animal taxonomy, plant taxonomy, biochemistry, anthropology, ethology, physiology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, plant physiology, plant morphology
  • Chemistry - analytical chemistry, organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, physical chemistry
  • Earth Sciences - geography, geology, mineralogy, geophysics, petrology and geochemistry, paleontology, astronomy and spacs science, meteorology
  • Environmantel Sciences -evironmental biology, evironmental physics, evironmental chemistry, evironmental earth science
  • Mathematics - applied analysis, applied statistics, differental geometry, group theory, nimber theory, algebras and algorithms, stochastic models, large netwoks, combinatorics
  • Physics - astrophysics, biological physics, evironmental physics, material physics, physics of quantum systems, statistical physics, complex systems


You may contact with the international programme coordinator of the faculty:

Ms. Éva NAGY , inter 'at ' ttk.elte.hu

Click to go top of the page.


For more information see the attachment.

For information about Eötvös Loránd University (ELTE), please visit the following website: https://www.elte.hu/en/